From e-cigarettes to vaporizers, pods and everything in between, vaping is everywhere you turn around. With this boom in sales it brings into question; Can everyone vape? And how old do you really need to be to vape? In this blog we are going to break down the age limitations and each state’s laws on vaping. To learn more, keep on reading.
How old do you have to be to buy a vape? The exact age to purchase a vaporizer or e-cigarette depends on the state law. All fifty states have now imposed age restrictions on the purchasing of vaporizer and e-cigarette products. Along with age limitations, several states have even gone as far to institute laws regarding the use of vapes, taxations and sales of vaporizers and e-cigarettes.
States like Minnesota, California, North Carolina, Louisiana, Kansas, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and the District of Columbia tax the sale, meaning the purchase of vaporizers or e-cigarettes will have an extra tax. While others like Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, New Jersey, New York, Utah, Vermont have instated the prohibition of indoor use of e-cigarettes or vaporizers in public areas including bars and restaurants. Some states including New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Texas, West Virginia, Wyoming and Iowa have banned e-cigarette sales through vending machines or any self-service displays.
So, let’s break down these vaping laws state by state. Starting with California, in 2016 the state raised the age limit of the purchase of any tobacco product including e-cigarettes as well as vaporizers to the age of 21 years old. In Hawaii the sales, distribution, and use of vaping devices are forbidden for anyone under the age of 21 years old. Oregon, New Jersey and Main have all followed suit and raised their age limit to 21 years old as well. In Alabama, Alaska and Utah, anyone over the age of 19 can legally buy and posses e-cigarettes or vaping devices or accessories such as e-liquids. The rest of the 42 states have a legal purchasing age of 18 years old.